Skip links

board members.

The role of the Police Services Boards is established through legislation described in the Police Services Act (PSA). These boards are a form of civilian governance that a detachment commander will work with and report to, in relation to defining goals and objectives for police services delivered in the municipalities or area. Police Services Boards are the primary governor of policing services and are provided specific legislated powers enabling them to fulfill their role as an instrument of public oversight of the police. The primary instruments of board governance are policies and business plans. Civilian governance ensures that the police remain responsible for operational matters, while being suitably accountable to civilian authorities for the delivery of police services.

Nottawasaga Police Service Board Members

Rick Milne
Chair, Mayor of New Tecumseth Township

Rick Milne was born and raised in the Alliston area and currently resides in Alliston with his wife, Eva. He is a father, grandfather and great grandfather who treasures time spent with his extended family.

Rick served as a police officer in Toronto and Alliston, and was also a paramedic in the County of Simcoe. In his well-deserved retirement, he serves his community both politically and as a community member. He is actively involved in the Alliston Potato Festival, Matthews House, the Tottenham and Beeton Chamber of Commerce, Alliston Lions Club, local food bank, Odd Fellows, Masons and Big Brothers.

Rick has been a member of Council since 1985, taking only two breaks. He currently sits as Mayor in the Town of New Tecumseth.

Sandie MacDonald
Vice Chair, Major of Essa Township

Sandie MacDonald has lived in the Township of Essa for over 57 years and has a proven track record of dedication and hard work with her contributions to the Essa Council, County of Simcoe Council and various local committees. She has over 15 years of experience as a councillor, deputy mayor and county councillor, and continues to be an active representative and strong voice in Essa.

Sandie has a background in finance and health and nutrition, having owned and operated a local health store for 22 years. Today, she continues to work to improve the standard of patient care and health services in the county.

Paul Whiteside
Provincial Appointment

J.J. Paul Whiteside was appointed by Order in Council on January 9th, 2020 as a member of the Nottawasaga Police Services Board for a three year period.

Paul is a retired Professional Accountant who served for 28 years as the Chief Financial Officer/Treasurer of the Town of New Tecumseth and the former Town of Alliston. Prior to working for the Town, Paul was employed at Baxter Corporation for 16 years as Plant Accountant.

In 2005, he was granted Fellowship by the Charter Professional Accountants of Ontario in recognition of his significant contribution to the accounting profession and to his community. Paul was also honoured with a Life Time Membership in 2010. In 2006, Paul was inducted into the Alliston Herald Hall of Fame.

In addition to serving on the PSB, Paul currently is a member of the Board of Directors of the Gibson Cultural Centre and is a member of the Town of New Tecumseth Committee of Adjustment.

Joy Webster
Community Representative, Township of Adjala-Tosorontio

Joy Webster is currently employed with Community Living Association South Simcoe (C.L.A.S.S.) and has resided in Adjala-Tosorontio for over 20 years.  She has extensive community development experience through the work she has done with the United Way and volunteering in the local community for over 20 years. Her most passionate Simcoe County project was working with the young adult community to build the Barrie Skateboard Park. Locally, Joy Webster has served as a councillor on the Adjala-Tosorontio Council and has also been the recipient of the South Simcoe Hall of Fame Award for her many volunteer efforts.

Joy and her husband Dave are proud parents of two children who attend Banting Memorial High School. Currently, she sits on the Parent Involvement Committee for the Simcoe County District School Board. Joy is passionate about the community where she resides and honoured to represent the Adjala-Tosorontio Council on the Nottawasaga Police Services Board.

Christina Garriock
Senior Administrative Assistant to General Managers – New Tecumseth/Secretary, Nottawasaga Police Service Board